Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities: Call for Action

Posted on April 28th, 2017 in Featured, Uncategorized

News from Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities:

State funding is urgently needed for employment services for adults with disabilities.

“Employing people with disabilities in competitive jobs is a win for the state, for employers and for workers.”

“ROI: Every $1 invested in Vocational Rehabilitation Services (VRS) yields nearly $9 in consumer wages.”

Your action is urgently needed to preserve employment services.

Jobs conference committee members from the Minnesota House and Senate are meeting this week to determine what legislation should be passed on to Governor Dayton. Please let them know that employment services for individuals with disabilities is a critical need.

Vocational Rehabilitation Services (VRS) empowers Minnesotans with disabilities to find and keep jobs by providing employment services such as job counseling, job search assistance, training and job placement.

Please take a moment to contact legislators on the conference committee and ask them to include an additional $3.5 million in funding for Vocational Rehabilitation Services (VRS) in the final jobs bill agreement.

Sen. Jeremy Miller (28, R)
651-296-5649
sen.jeremy.miller@senate.mn

Sen. Paul T. Anderson (44, R)
651-296-9261

Sen. Gary H. Dahms (16, R)
651-296-8138
sen.gary.dahms@senate.mn

Sen. Bobby Joe Champion (59, DFL)
651-296-9246

Sen. David J. Osmek (33, R)
651-296-1282
sen.david.osmek@senate.mn

Rep. Pat Garofalo (58B, R)
651-296-1069 or 888-667-3337
rep.pat.garofalo@house.mn

Rep. Jim Newberger (15B, R)
651-296-2451 or 800-706-9962
rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Rep. Joe Hoppe (47B, R)
651-296-5066
rep.joe.hoppe@house.mn

Rep. Marion O’Neill (29B, R)
651-296-5063 or 800-920-5875
rep.marion.oneill@house.mn

Rep. Tim Mahoney (67A, DFL)
651-296-4277
rep.tim.mahoney@house.mn

Questions? Contact Jo Erbes, Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities: 612-455-1232, jo@mnccd.org