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Disability Parking Quick Reference Design Guide 
Published October 2015. Revised October 2020. 

Accessibility Standards have been changing over the past several years. The Minnesota Council on 
Disability has prepared this quick reference guide to help you ensure that your parking is accessible to 
all of your customers, clients, tenants, and employees. It’s good business! 

In 2007 the Building Code was updated to require 8-foot access aisles in all new and reconfigured 
disability parking spaces. The only way to maintain the existing 5-foot access aisle is to repaint over the 
exact lines. Parking areas that are seal-coated, resurfaced, or reconfigured in any way must use an 8-
foot access aisle. (MN Building Code 1106.1 to 1106.7) 

If you own or operate a parking lot that is out of compliance with the new code, the Minnesota Council 
on Disability encourages you to update your accessible parking areas. Compliance with the current 
code minimizes your risks of complaints and litigation—AND it’s good business! 

Important Information: “Van accessible” signage is not required by Minnesota 
State Building Code when all disability parking spaces have access aisles that are 
a minimum of 96 inches wide and have a minimum of 98 inches vertical 
clearance. The Federal ADA is being interpreted to require van accessible 
signage on at least 1 for every 6 van accessible spaces. You may also put van 
accessible signage on all of your compliant spaces and reduce user confusion. To 
protect your business, please consider adding van accessible signage to your 
disability parking. 

Accessible parking spaces must: 

• Be located on the shortest possible accessible route to the building entrance. 

• Have a permanently mounted sign centered at the head of the space, which is 
between 60 inches (minimum) and 66 inches (maximum) from the parking 
surface to the bottom of the sign.  

• The sign shall be at least 12 inches by 18 inches and display the international 
symbol of access in white on blue and indicate that a vehicle ID is required and 
that violators are subject to a fine of up to $200. 
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• Be at least 8 feet wide. 

• Have an adjacent 8-foot wide access aisle (preferably on the passenger side if there is only one 
accessible space). Van parking spaces that are angled shall have access aisles located on the 
passenger side of the parking space.  

• Have a permanently mounted “No Parking” sign centered at the head of the access aisle space 
UNLESS that sign would obstruct a curb ramp or pedestrian route. If that is the case, “No 
Parking” shall be painted on the access aisle surface. (The sign may also be posted on a building 
at the head end of the access aisle as long as it’s not more than 8 feet away.) 

• The slope of each accessible parking space and access aisle must not exceed a ratio of 1:48. 
Slope of curb ramps must not exceed a ratio of 1:12. 

Table: Minimum number of required spaces 

Total Number of Parking Spaces Required Number of 
Accessible Spaces 

1 to 25 1 

26 to 50 2 

51 to 75 3 

76 to 100 4 

101 to 150 5 

151 to 200 6 

201 to 300 7 

301 to 400 8 

401 to 500 9 

501 to 1000 2% of total parking spaces 

1001 and over 20 spaces plus 1 for each 
100 over 1000 

Note: Apartment buildings, dormitories and similar building types require a minimum of 2% disability 
parking. Outpatient hospital facilities require 10% and rehabilitation facilities/physical therapy facilities 
require 20% disability parking. 

For detailed information, refer to Section 502 of the accessible parking design code requirements 
(https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/MNAC2020P1). 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/MNAC2020P1
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