There are over half a million valid disability parking certificates and plates in Minnesota. We offer the “Do’s and Don’ts” of disability parking and disability parking spaces. and information on disability parking laws and regulations.
On this page:
Apply for a Disability Parking Certificate
You must complete an application form to receive a disability parking certificate.
Fill out the PDF application: Application for Disability Parking Certificate (PDF)
You can also apply for a certificate through the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website.
Under Driver Services, select Request or Renew Disability Parking Certificate.
If you have questions about the process, call 651-297-3377.
There is no fee for a Permanent (valid for 6 years) or Long-Term (valid for 13 to 72 months) disability parking certificate.
There is a $5 fee for a Temporary (valid up to 6 months) or Short-Term (valid up to 12 months) disability parking certificate.
How to Complete the PDF Application
The person requesting a disability parking certificate – that is, a person with a disability – must complete Page 1 of the application. They (the applicant) may have assistance filling out this page. However, the applicant must sign it. If someone else signs for the applicant, they must have Power of Attorney.
Note: If an assistant fills out the page, be sure to write in the name of the applicant in the Full Name field not the name of the assistant.
A health professional must fill out Page 2 of the application and sign it. The following health professionals can fill out a disability parking certificate application:
- Advanced practice registered nurse
- Authorized physician assistant
- Physical therapist
When Pages 1 and 2 to are completed, submit the application. You may submit it in person at any Motor Vehicle Registrar’s office or by mail to the address listed on Page 3.
Important: There may be a backlog in the Department of Public Safety issuing disability parking certificates.
If you submit the application in person, the registrar may issue you a 90-day temporary permit on site. If you mail the application, the Department of Public Safety may send you a 90-day temporary permit before they send your requested permit.
Disability Parking Certificate Eligibility
You are eligible for a disability parking certificate if you:
- Have a cardiac condition causing functional limitations classified by the American Heart Association.
- Use portable oxygen.
- Are restricted by a respiratory disease.
- Have an artificial oxygen tension (PAO2) of less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at rest.
- Have lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb.
- Cannot walk without the aid of another person or device, such as a wheelchair or cane.
- Cannot walk 200 feet without it being life threatening.
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
- Cannot walk without a significant risk of falling.
To find out if you are eligible:
- Complete the applicant section of the application
- Have your health professional complete the health professional section of the application.
- Submit the application to any Motor Vehicle Registrar’s office or the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
Disability Parking Certificate Privileges
If you are eligible for disability parking certificates or license plates, you can:
- Park in properly designated disability parking spaces.
- Park at public parking meters without having to pay.
- Park in non-metered passenger spaces without regard to time limits unless the limits are posted on a sign.
Important Information About Your Privileges
Follow any parking lot restrictions. Any rule that applies to a parking lot may also apply to the disability parking in that lot. For example, if a lot is for customers only and you use the disability parking while not a customer, you may be subject to parking enforcement.
Having a disability parking certificate does not allow you to park anywhere you want for free.
If designated disability parking spaces are occupied or unavailable, and you have a valid disability parking certificate or license plates, you may park at an angle and occupy two standard parking spaces.
Disability Parking Certificate Responsibilities
It is important that you use disability parking in a safe, courteous, and legal manner.
Never drive with your disability parking certificate hanging from the rear-view mirror. When hanging from the rear-view mirror, the certificate obstructs your vision and violates Minnesota State Statute 169.71.
In many parking lots, there are disability parking spaces designated “Van Accessible” with 8-foot access aisle. If there are other disability spaces available and you do not need the wider space, please leave it for someone with a lift or ramp-equipped van.
When parking your vehicle in the disability parking space, never park in the access aisle (hatch-marked area). Someone using a wheelchair or other mobility device or someone with a lift- or ramp-equipped van may need it.
If you request more than 3 replacement certificates in a 6-year period, you will need to contact us. You must fill out a questionnaire about how you use your certificate and keep it secure before you can request another one.
Disability Parking Violations
It is a parking violation to:
- Use someone else’s certificate.
- Park in or block an access aisle.
- Park in a disability parking space without displaying your certificate.
- Alter an existing certificate.
Parking Violation Notice
If you come across a vehicle parked in disability parking, and it appears to violate regulations, use the Parking Violation Notice to spread awareness. IMPORTANT: These notices are for informational purposes only and do not constitute parking enforcement.
If you would like printed copies of these notices, contact us.
Disability Parking Enforcement
Here are three things to know about disability parking enforcement:
- Local law enforcement has the authority to enforce disability parking on private and public property.
- Property owners and managers can have vehicles towed for disability parking violations in their lots.
- Anyone has the right to contact local law enforcement to report disability parking violations.
Ticketing for Violations
It may happen that people with a valid disability parking certificate or license plate are incorrectly ticketed. If this happens to you, contact the entity that issued the ticket and discuss the process for getting it dismissed.
Out-of-State Disability Parking Certificates
Every state recognizes out-of-state disability parking certificates and license plates. Minnesota vehicles with disability parking certificates or license plates may use disability parking in other states.
When planning to travel to another state, it is a good idea to know about specific disability parking privileges for that state. For example, not all states allow free parking at meters or require disability parking spaces to have 8-foot access aisles.
Make sure your disability parking certificate is not expired when traveling out of state.
Disability Parking Spaces
Residential Disability Parking
State law allows for residential streets to have disability parking.
If you have a disability parking certificate, you may request that the on-street residential parking in front of your house is converted into a disability parking space.
For information about on-street residential disability parking:
- In Minneapolis: Call the Traffic Engineering Section at 612-673-3000.
- In St. Paul: Call the Public Works Department at 651-266-6200.
- Outside of the Twin Cities Metro Area: Contact your City Planning Office or Police Department.
Information for Lot Owners and Managers
Code-compliant disability parking is critically important for people with disabilities. Use our Quick Reference Guide (PDF) to make your parking compliant with current standards.
For all the technical specifications for disability parking in Minnesota, refer to Minnesota State Building Code Chapter 1341 section 502.
If your location does not have a parking lot, you are not required to have disability parking.
Purchasing Disability Parking Signs
You can buy disability parking signs from any local business that prints signs.
Painting on Pavement
You are not required to paint the wheelchair symbol on the pavement. However, a disability parking sign is required at the head of the parking space. The sign must be visible from within the parked vehicle.
Disability Parking in Minnesota Statute
- 345 PARKING PRIVILEGE FOR PHYSICALLY DISABLED
- 346 DISABILITY PARKING AREAS; CRITERIA, ENFORCEMENT
- 021 PLATES FOR PHYSICALLY DISABLED PERSONS
Assistance at Self-Serve Gas Stations
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requires self-serve gas stations to provide equal access to people with disabilities. If necessary, gas stations must:
- Provide refueling assistance upon the request of an individual with a disability. A service station or convenience store is not required to provide such service at any time that it is operating on a remote control basis with a single employee, but is encouraged to do so, if feasible.
- Let patrons know (e.g., through appropriate signs) that customers with disabilities can obtain refueling assistance by either honking or otherwise signaling an employee.
- Provide the refueling assistance without any charge beyond the self-service price.
For more information, contact the ADA information hotline at 800-514-0301 (voice) or 800-514-0383 (TDD) or visit ADA.gov.